Psalm 63 – From the Desert

Psalm 63 (The Message)
A David Psalm, When He Was out in the Judean Wilderness

1 God—you’re my God! I can’t get enough of you!
I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God,
traveling across dry and weary deserts.

2-4 So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open,
drinking in your strength and glory.
In your generous love I am really living at last!
My lips brim praises like fountains.
I bless you every time I take a breath;
My arms wave like banners of praise to you.

5-8 I eat my fill of prime rib and gravy;
I smack my lips. It’s time to shout praises!
If I’m sleepless at midnight,
I spend the hours in grateful reflection.
Because you’ve always stood up for me,
I’m free to run and play.
I hold on to you for dear life,
and you hold me steady as a post.

9-11 Those who are out to get me are marked for doom,
marked for death, bound for hell.
They’ll die violent deaths;
jackals will tear them limb from limb.
But the king is glad in God;
his true friends spread the joy,
While small-minded gossips
are gagged for good.

What do you think of when you think of desert? Sand, heat, wind, cactus, dryness . . . This Psalm is written by David when he is in the desert. We assume that it is when he is on the run from his Son Absolom. Anyway, the Psalm is supposed to be a lament because he is lost in the desert hiding from his own son and had lost his crown, his thrown, and his comfort. But what does he say? “I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God” he doesn’t curse God, he doesn’t wish harm upon his enemy, he instead says God I love being near you here in the desert I don’t need food or water I need You, You will quench my thirst and my hunger. How often do we in times of trouble and pain when we are in our own sort of desert cry out that . . . not often. We want help and rescue then and there. I said yesterday that God will rescue us from our place of hardship in His time, which is the best time, not ours. Be close to God in your ‘desert times’ and you will be joyful in those times, and grow stronger in your life and faith. Look at the top of the third ‘verse’ or paragraph “I eat my fill of prime rib and gravy; I smack my lips. It’s time to shout praises” He is in the flippin desert, hot sand, no food, and he talks of eating prime rib and gravy? David here in his time of sorrow is more joyful that God is there, that God is with him so much so that he cannot be sad!

Questions for thought:

1. What sorts of deserts are you in now? Are you being patient through them?

2. Do you believe God is with you and will rescue you? Or are you blinded by your daily life and cannot see or hear Him?

One thought on “Psalm 63 – From the Desert

  1. Ryan Crundwell says:

    yeah i can definitely sympathize with David. Granted i’m not being pursued by someone trying to kill me but still. Life is tough sometimes, but God is always faithful. When it comes down to it, He is all we really need.

Leave a Reply

