Psalm 84 – God’s floor scrubber

Psalm 84 (The Messaged)

A Korah Psalm

1-2 What a beautiful home, God-of-the-Angel-Armies! I’ve always longed to live in a place like this,
Always dreamed of a room in your house,
where I could sing for joy to God-alive!
3-4 Birds find nooks and crannies in your house,
sparrows and swallows make nests there.
They lay their eggs and raise their young,
singing their songs in the place where we worship.
God-of-the-Angel-Armies! King! God!
How blessed they are to live and sing there!
5-7 And how blessed all those in whom you live,
whose lives become roads you travel;
They wind through lonesome valleys, come upon brooks,
discover cool springs and pools brimming with rain!
God-traveled, these roads curve up the mountain, and
at the last turn—Zion! God in full view!
8-9 God-of-the-Angel-Armies, listen:
O God of Jacob, open your ears—I’m praying!
Look at our shields, glistening in the sun,
our faces, shining with your gracious anointing.
10-12 One day spent in your house, this beautiful place of worship,
beats thousands spent on Greek island beaches.
I’d rather scrub floors in the house of my God
than be honored as a guest in the palace of sin.
All sunshine and sovereign is God,
generous in gifts and glory.
He doesn’t scrimp with his traveling companions.
It’s smooth sailing all the way with God-of-the-Angel-Armies.

Have you ever really thought about serving before. Not like being a waiter or waitress, but the idea of doing something for someone because you want to serve them. Like for instance, in the relationship between my wife and I we have an agreement: Because I work 40+ hours a week to bring home ‘the bacon’ she takes care of the house. We do this because it seems fair that her job be to make sure the house is in order. But from time to time I get a little crazy and here’s what happens. Amy is napping, or watching TV if she is watching TV normally I am too. All of a sudden I get this notion in my head and I go to the kitchen. I turn on the water to hot and let it warm up. I open the dish washer and I start to empty it, after that I load it up with what I can. With the non-dishwasher-safe items, I put in a bath of hot soapy water and wash them until clean I dry them and put them away. I then clean up the mess I made cleaning the dishes, to finish my kitchen cleaning and then go sit back down with my wife and finish watching the program. I don’t do this this because she asked me too, or because it is my responsibility, I do this because I love her, and I don’t want her to have to worry about it, or interrupt her perfect afternoon with the washing of dishes.

Here is the point. This Psalm is basically telling God that being in his presence is awesome that there is nothing better for us anywhere anytime. The Psalmist tells God that if he could only spend one day in God’s presence that it would make his day . . . no life! He then goes on to say that it would be better to scrub the floors in heaven than to be the honored house guest in a rich house-hold of sinners. It puts a whole new spin on spending time with God doesn’t it. There is nothing in the scriptures that promise us a luxurious after-life, just that there will be one. I believe though that heaven will be something similar to Eden. We will be in God’s presence, he will walk with us. We will have to do some sort of work, but the fact that God is there shining down up on us makes it all worth it. We could be the cleaner of heavenly toilets, or the scupper of the heavenly elephant dung, it wouldn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

