Psalm 5 – God of Justice and Forgiveness

Psalm 5

A David Psalm

1-3 Listen, God! Please, pay attention! Can you make sense of these ramblings, my groans and cries? King-God, I need your help.
Every morning
you’ll hear me at it again.
Every morning
I lay out the pieces of my life
on your altar
and watch for fire to descend.

4-6 You don’t socialize with Wicked,
or invite Evil over as your houseguest.
Hot-Air-Boaster collapses in front of you;
you shake your head over Mischief-Maker.
God destroys Lie-Speaker;
Blood-Thirsty and Truth-Bender disgust you.

7-8 And here I am, your invited guest—
it’s incredible!
I enter your house; here I am,
prostrate in your inner sanctum,
Waiting for directions
to get me safely through enemy lines.

9-10 Every word they speak is a land mine;
their lungs breathe out poison gas.
Their throats are gaping graves,
their tongues slick as mudslides.
Pile on the guilt, God!
Let their so-called wisdom wreck them.
Kick them out! They’ve had their chance.

11-12 But you’ll welcome us with open arms
when we run for cover to you.
Let the party last all night!
Stand guard over our celebration.
You are famous, God, for welcoming God-seekers,
for decking us out in delight

Well I didn’t know what to make of this Psalm at first. I mean Psalms are songs of worship, but they also reveal different attributes of God to us and model some ways our relationship with him should look. In this Psalm David is basically laying out all the attributes that God hates in men. The funny thing is that a lot of the attributes and actions that David points out he also has in himself or has committed some of those acts. So it begs the question: David what are you talking about here? Repentance, this is a Psalm of repentance and forgiveness. Not in the traditional sense that we would think. It depicts though what happens when you are repentant to God and he forgives you. He doesn’t see all those things in you anymore, the only thing he sees is righteousness and purity. This is pre-Christ and it was still true. It just goes to show that it isn’t about action it’s about relationship and authenticity.

One thought on “Psalm 5 – God of Justice and Forgiveness

  1. Tom Neyhart says:

    Hey Bro.
    Excellent thoughts! It brings to mind a verse from Psalm 51 “Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
    Do not cast me from your presence
    or take your Holy Spirit from me.
    Restore to me the joy of your salvation
    and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.” When the heart is cleansed and made pure and holy again then renewal and restoration can take place.

    In other news, I don’t know if this was in the media in CA but here about three weeks ago we had a 5.2 earthquake wake us up at 5:36 in the morning. Scared the crap out of us! We live in Indiana… that sort of thing ain’t supposed to happen. The center was about 90 miles away so it gave us a good shake, no problems but I went outside to check the house anyway.

Leave a Reply

