Psalm 6 – God of punishment and grace

Psalm 6 (The Message)

A David Psalm

1-2 Please, God, no more yelling, no more trips to the woodshed.
Treat me nice for a change;
I’m so starved for affection.

2-3 Can’t you see I’m black-and-blue,
beat up badly in bones and soul?
God, how long will it take
for you to let up?

4-5 Break in, God, and break up this fight;
if you love me at all, get me out of here.
I’m no good to you dead, am I?
I can’t sing in your choir if I’m buried in some tomb!

6-7 I’m tired of all this—so tired. My bed
has been floating forty days and nights
On the flood of my tears.
My mattress is soaked, soggy with tears.
The sockets of my eyes are black holes;
nearly blind, I squint and grope.

8-9 Get out of here, you Devil’s crew:
at last God has heard my sobs.
My requests have all been granted,
my prayers are answered.

10 Cowards, my enemies disappear.
Disgraced, they turn tail and run.

This Psalm is really interesting to me. It starts out with David addressing God as his punisher, then transitions to David calling for rescue from his bully. The more I look at it, I go to the book of Judges. In Judges, God would bring in foreign nations to ‘punish’ Israel for their unfaithfulness. All of us who know the story of David know that he had a few moments of unfaithfulness. God did punish him, and his enemies did, chase him, and taunt him. Despite all that David still returned to God, much like the nation of Israel in Judges. How often is this us? How often do we have ‘smooth sailing’ and because of this ignore God and maybe become unfaithful? Then we wonder why our lives are starting to fall apart. Return to God, and call out His name. And once you have, be like Job, and in the good and the bad, bless the name of God, and be faithful. God will punish the unfaithful, but He will show grace to those who return.

One thought on “Psalm 6 – God of punishment and grace

  1. Ryan Crundwell says:

    So very true, how often we fall away and then come crawling back our life gone down tube. It’s no small miracle that He loves us. Another reason why God cannot be a human creation. No human would love so purely and give so many chances to come back. good thoughts. Oh i wrote another blog…finally. 🙂

Leave a Reply

