A Confession

I don’t know everything, sometimes I think I don’t know anything. But I write a blog. Some people think I write it for my own gain, and pleasure. Sure I enjoy it, but I would bet that most people out there (Christians especially) would say, they are just contributing and starting conversation. In the book of Deuteronomy there is a passage known to the Jews as ‘The Shema’. Shema is actually a Hebrew phrase that means Hear! Deuteronomy 6:4-9 says this: “Hear, O Israel! The LORD is our God, the LORD is one! You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. These words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand and they shall be as frontals on your forehead. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.” Blogging is part of my way to fulfill this command. I talk a lot about theology and ministry, those are rooted in the word of God, and thus we should be discussing them in extension and along with the word of God. So I invite you to be apart of the discussion. If you have thoughts on the subject or what I or others have said or commented add to it. You’ll notice I will respond.

You’ll notice that a lot of bloggers write with a kind of authority. Normally we write about what we know, so we have some knowledge there. You’ll also notice that good bloggers ask a lot of questions. That is to help the discussion, and express the fact that we don’t know it all, and we want you to help us figure it out. So help us out, help me out, let me know your tracking with me, or not tracking with me. Let me know if you know something I don’t and especially let me know if your opinion on a subject is different than mine, I like when you do that!

Leave a Reply

