Rooted 7/15 – The Return of Peru

So tonight at Rooted we had the Jr. Higher come over to the HS ministry to hear from some of the Peru team. I was initially going to teach for Jr. High, but Guy (the Jr. High point man) decided it would be beneficial for them to hear about the Peru experience. I asked Dakota, one of our students, and Gail, one of our leaders. To share what they learned from the experience. I thought they both did very good, I had prepared a short follow up message that would connect in a way, but ended up not doing it, because what the two shared was good enough, and Amy also did a good wrap up herself. I asked Brennan and Tracy (two other Peru members) to pick out 1 song each for worship that night, as they were on the worship team tonight. We did Open the Eyes of my Heart (by Paul Baloche) and Indescribable (written by Laura Story and made famous by Chris Tomlin) at their request. I added I Will Go (by Starfield) and Make a Joyful Noise/I Will Not Be Silent (Terry Butler/David Crowder). All the songs went well except Make  Joyful Noise, I’m pretty sure I messed it up. Over all I thought it was a good night. We finished by breaking into groups and sharing the moments we were most grateful for and least grateful for from the past week. Which was really cool I thought to hear where students are at, and their ups and downs with God and each other.

Afterward the Platt’s (similar too, but no the same as the Platt’s I wrote about last night, these are relatives of those) invited the youth group over to their house to swim and eat. Amy and I went as well, it was great to hang out with students, and re-connect with the Peru Team students! We have such a great group, that wants to be Rooted in the word of God, as well as in invest in each other in such a deep way. To be honest I would rather have a small group of 30 like this that really love God and each other, and others, than a huge 100 or bigger group any day! So here’s to you Rooted students!!!

2 thoughts on “Rooted 7/15 – The Return of Peru

  1. Dakota says:

    I think you did all the songs well. 8D

Leave a Reply

