Forgiveness

This past Sunday we talked about forgiveness in our Church Service. I was a little convicted, I think I have a hard time forgiving sometimes. I’m not really sure why, probably a pride issue, which is something I’m working on. Forgiveness is a huge part of our faith as Christians, we are forgiven of our sins so we can be in relationship with God. We are told to forgive, so that we may also be forgiven. There is even a harsh parable told where a servant is forgiven, who then can’t forgive, and is then punished for it. The question I have been struggling with is this. Can we forgive someone without still liking them? Lets be honest, we will not like everyone that we meet. So if we have a conflict with someone, and reconcile (or forgive) do we have to like that person? Or is forgiving different?

What is your perception of forgiveness?

7 thoughts on “Forgiveness

  1. susan says:

    Forgive but don’t forget. Friends close enemies closer?

  2. steve says:

    i suppose if forgiving someone means putting everything in the past, that hardly any body truly forgives. its more of acceptance. unless you can really get past everything. i suppose if you have a close relationship with that person then its much easier to forgive. but at the same time the severity of the offense could make you lose trust in that person. i wouldn’t really say its a matter of liking the person. i dont like a lot of people. some of my friends i dont like have the time. honestly though you dont have to like any one.

    i guess i would say forgiving and reconciling are different. forgiveness to me implies that all conflict is forgotten and you move on as though it had never happened. while reconciliation would be, more or less, not holding a grudge but not truly forgetting either if that makes any sense

    • supermatt28 says:

      Wow Steve, some good thoughts from ‘The Marine’. I like where you were going with it. Although I am a little uncertain about one part. If reconciling is not holding a grudge, but not forgetting. Would forgiving, be one step below that, where a grudge might still exists, or one step above, where you have no grudge and you forget?

  3. ztanksley says:

    I dont normally quote from the NT, but We know that the greatest commandment Jesus said was about loving God, and loving our neighbors as ourselves. And when I think of the “Love” chapter in the bible it talks about keeping no record of wrongs. I wonder how many of us ever really stop keeping a record of wrongs against others and ourselves.

    • supermatt28 says:

      I like that you brought forgiving ourselves into the conversation. And the love chapter. I think it might really get at the heart of the matter. If God can forgive us, then we should be able to do the same. If we are measured by God’s standard, and He forgives us through His Son Jesus, then we should measure ourselves by that same standard right? As for the love chapter, what does it really meant to love there?

  4. cindy says:

    Good thoughts. I am no expert but I’d like to throw in my two cents. I think that forgiveness has a lot to do with understanding our own sinfulness and lack. It is really hard to forgive someone if you don’t understand weakeness and imperfectioons. The more aware I become of my own failures and just plain dorkiness the easier it is to let go of other peoples stuff too.

  5. […] Part 2 My last post on Forgiveness (click here to read and comment) has created an interesting line of thought. I thought I would follow it up […]

Leave a Reply

