Encouragement

I am a big advocate for being encouraging. Not to the extent that you lie to someone by encouraging them in an area they are obviously not gifted in, but encouraging people in their area of giftings. I have a number of older men in my life that I talk to about issues in my life, and what I like about each of them is that they are encouraging to me. When someone encourages me it makes it easier to listen to any critique, correction or rebuke. If someone is never encouraging I tend to tune them out. The ‘non-encourager’ may even have some really great things to say and speak into my life, but the lack of encouragement (being replaced with discouragements in most cases) takes away the right of that person to speak into my life. At least that is how I see it, it may not be the reality at all. Maybe I should give them an equal chance. It’s just that I have seen the power of encouraging words to the mind and soul to young leaders who are still unsure of themselves. The phrase ‘I believe in you’ has gotten me through many a dire situation. I have taken to using this phrase with young leaders in my ministries, and I have seen the effects there.

I really want to know how you are encouraged? How you encourage others? And how encouragement plays a role in allowing people to speak into your life or a situation in your life.

P.S. A special thanks to Danny Basham, Phil Vaughn, Matt Kluttz, Rich Kirkpatrick, Steve Stinnette, Matt Bach, and my parents all of whom have mentored me in one way or another, and have always encouraged me, and rebuked me when needed. Thanks to you all!

9 thoughts on “Encouragement

  1. Dr Mekis says:

    I am encouraged by the fact that Jesus loved me enough to die for me and that one day I will be in Heaven with him. I try to encourage others by comforting them when they are down, showing them some compassion. To me, encouragement has nothing to do with allowing people to speak into my life. If I am doing something wrong, I hope that someone will correct me and tell me how I could improve. If they wish to offer me some advice, I will listen to them and see if the advice matches up with God’s Word. Even if I can’t stand the person speaking to me, I will show them the respect that everyone deserves (and if they don’t deserve it I will show them grace [just as I believe Jesus would do]) by listening to them.

    • supermatt28 says:

      Thanks for sharing your heard Dr. Mekis. Although I am not saying that encouragement should have anything to do with allowing people to speak into your life. I am saying that is how I work. It’s kinda like two different cars. They do similar things, just one has a different type of engine or injector system than the other. We are both human and we live in a similar culture and world. We just work differently. Continue to share your thoughts they are always interesting, and help me to process my thoughts as well!

  2. I DO believe in you Matt!

  3. ~JOSh-X says:

    My wife is my biggest encourager 🙂

    She always helps me step out of the way before I lead worship by calming any fears I may have, and reminding me to come back to Jesus, the centre.

    • supermatt28 says:

      Wives are great at that aren’t they. I love that my wife knows me well enough to encourage me in the right way always, and when I need it slap me around a bit (figuratively)!

  4. Extenze says:

    Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?

  5. Steph says:

    Actually, you and Amy encouraged me the most. And no, I’m not saying that because you often showered me with unexpected gifts, although I did enjoy them! You were purposeful, intentional and selfless. You were that way with my kids also. I like to cheer people on in various ways, in person (maybe a hug), email or facebook, just simple, “Good job!” “You can do it!” I guess my encouraging skills could use some work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

