Advisors

I have had a lot of time to think over the past few weeks. For those of you who know me well, you know that I have 5-6 people in my life that speak into different aspects of it. Be it ministry, my marriage, my emotional state, etc. I am the kind of guy who respects someone who can listen to different opinions and make a decision based on those opinions, maybe even a different one than they would have made alone. I often call upon my ‘advisors’ or mentors to help me make more informed decisions. I wonder though how often I make a decision, then ask advice, to make myself feel good about that process, and go with the original decision. Maybe my original thought was right, but maybe sometimes it was wrong, and maybe I went with it anyway. I am not saying that I DO, do that but that I am trying to figure out if I do . . . just an area of growth, or re-evaluation in my life right now.

Do you listen to the advice and opinions of others in your life?

2 thoughts on “Advisors

  1. tomneyhart says:

    I have a small handfull of people that I consider mentors. Their thoughts and advice carry the most weight and I try to listen with an open mind. More recently has been my heightned attempts to first and foremost seek God’s advice on things big and small. I am finding that he does guide us even in the small things if we are patient enough to listen and to be silent in his presence. I am the worst at praying and being silent to allow God to speak. I think I have gotten burnt enough by poor decisions to really seek out advice and guidence with an open heart.

    • supermatt28 says:

      Thanks for sharing your heart here Tom, I feel the same way on the silently waiting for God issue, I have such a hard time with it.

Leave a Reply

