The Birds of the Air

I’ve been thinking a lot about worrying today. There is a reason for this, that I may share in a future blog. I have always thought of myself as someone who doesn’t worry about the future. How I will pay rent next month, or buy food for meals. I always believed that God would take care of me, as he always has. However, as I sit and contemplate these ideas I realize I do worry, and I begin to ask myself, “how many of us do worry about our rent, mortgage, food, clothes, our entertainment, and computers, etc?”

Matthew 6:25-34 talks about how pursuers of Christ-likeness ought to respond to worry. As I read this I ask, how many of us worry, or don’t worry, as commanded here? I know I spend more than my fair share of time worrying about such things. After all it’s only human right? Or no? Is it our fallen sinful nature that causes worry, and to be more human we need to cast off the burden of worry. In our economic climate it is easy to worry. Our retirement funds are suffering, jobs are hard to find. There is nothing wrong with wanting to care for your family, I believe that is what God calls each of us to do. However, to worry because of something we cannot control is pointless. So I am challenging myself to stop worrying, and I ask you to join me.

How many of you worry too much? How many of you will join me in my challenge?

Leave a Reply

