Titles

So at breakfast this morning my family and I ended up talking about a training event for leaders that had a name that caused me to cringe a bit. The reason for the name after discussed made sense. However, first impressions are important even if they may not be accurate impressions. I guess it made me wonder if the titles we give Christian events and organizations should be strategically chosen to accurately and yet do not repulse those that have yet to join the Church. I read somewhere that the Bible is offensive enough without us trying to be offensive as well.

How strategic should we be about our program and organization titles?

3 thoughts on “Titles

  1. Jeff Brumley says:

    Here’s what makes me snicker: Mars Hill Church doesn’t have Men’s Retreats. Men don’t retreat. They have Men’s Advances.

  2. supermatt28 says:

    I think I decided that I don’t like the ‘Men’s Advance’ title. I mean what are they advancing on. It sounds very USMC like, which I’m all for, but did we give our men M-16s or M-4s on this advance. Even Jesus retreated from time to time in order to refresh I mean that’s the point right?

Leave a Reply

