A Neat Little Package

Well 2009 is wrapping up (for some it’s a neat package for others not so neat), and 2010 looms in the not so distant future. I don’t normally take time to look back over my year or plan the next year, I’m not a big new years resolution guy, I just try to live life to the best every day. However, my 2009 year has been full of insane-ness. Those of you who have been with me on the ride know that Amy (who can now be followed on twitter @guamie1) and I moved to Yakima, WA to take a youth ministry position at a CMA church there. While there my brother Steve returned from his deployment to Afghanistan, a little beat up, but none the worse for wear. We didn’t last through the 6 month probation they promised us at Yakima before we were ‘released from our calling’. However while there we made some good friends and built a significant relationship or two with a few students, and had a great time. Literally the week after I wrapped up (in a not so neat package) my ministry there my brother Dan (who can also be followed on twitter @dtmepl) married Meghan Flinn (now Anderson) on August 1st, and I was privileged to be able to preside over the ceremony, I love doing weddings especially those I am close too. Not two weeks after that I was contacted by David Lawson from May Valley Alliance Church to interview and candidate for the Youth Pastor position there. After a quick process, a lot of prayer, and a few well placed hints from God I took the position. And now here I am in Renton, WA a place I had never heard of a year ago. SO as my year wraps up I would say that God has made it a messy package, but ya know, if it was neat what would I do next year. The only time I think I want God to wrap something neat for me is when I die. Because then the ‘here after’ is neat and glorious and bright and happy, and well you know. So this New Year Eve raise a glass to the messy little wrapped package the end of your year should be!

How neat or messy is your 2009 package?

One thought on “A Neat Little Package

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Matt Anderson, Matt Anderson. Matt Anderson said: A Neat Little Package: http://wp.me/pzP1y-4Y […]

Leave a Reply

