Everything Glorious

This past weekend I had the privilege of playing Bass Guitar for my church worship team. Our worship leader was introducing one of my favorite worship songs to our church “Everything Glorious” by DC*B. What I love about this team is the openness, we stopped to discuss one line of the song. “You make everything glorious, and I am Yours, what does that make me?”

Yesterday I was chatting with a friend and this song came up again. That line again came up and we discussed it.

Here are a few objections to this line, I think they are valid at that:

  • We are sinful and not glorious
  • God made everything glorious, but it isn’t anymore
  • That line makes the song about us and not God

As I listened to these objections I thought, yea that’s right! Then I began to think again. Here is what I think of this line and why it does belong in our worship. First off, Genesis 1 the creation story. Every time God created something he said it was ‘good’ and that humanity was ‘very good’. Granted this doesn’t say it’s glorious but if God says its good then well it has to be that at least. Later in the fall sure things got tainted, but look ahead to John 3:16. “For God so loved the world . . .” It says world, not humanity, or animals, or anything specific, it says world. That means that everything that is created is redeemed by the act of redemption. It is made glorious. So we can and should sing ‘You [God] make everything glorious.’ We do belong to God in his family as Christians so we should sing, “and I am yours”. What about that last line.

It does make it about us. However, look at Psalm 8. Half that Psalm is about humanity, about us. This Psalm makes my point above as well, but look even at other Psalms they are very much about humanity. The point isn’t that we are glorifying ourselves the point is that we are showing that because of our relationship, as creations of God, with God we have value. By doing that we give glory to God

Where do you stand?

6 thoughts on “Everything Glorious

  1. susan says:

    I always thought the song was saying in an awestruck and humble way..you make everything glorious and I am yours…what does that make me? Like they can’t wrap their brain around the thought of even though we are unworthy we are redeemed and forgiven. Like whoa what does that make me? So special to you Lord that you would sacrifice your only Son for me? It is hard to fathom but we are grateful just the same.

  2. Ryan says:

    I was all ready to have a rebuttle to your intial statement about the not glorious and sinful bit, but you continued and all was explained and I agreed with it. As far as the bits about ourselves in the worship songs: we are active participants in this relationship with God, I think it is impossible to not include some part of yourself in the adoration. Not that we point out how good we are because we worship but point out yes I am doing this thing and I do this because is entirely amazing and this worship that I do, no other being is worthy of. I think it would be wrong to not include a part of the self and how we feel about God in our relationship with him. Yes he knows what we think and feel; I’m sure a lot of the time your wife knows how you think and feel about her but she still wants to hear it. In that same way God wants to hear it from us, not that he needs to but he genuinely wants to. So we praise not out of pride but out of deep affection. A deep affection that God has for us that we reciprocate because we have the freedom to do so through Christ.

    • supermatt28 says:

      Ryan, I love that you compared our relationship with God to a relationship with my wife, it’s true! She loves to hear I love you (and cause I know she’ll read this “I LOVE YOU SWEETIE”)! Great thoughts. Oh yea, I should probably include: ‘I LOVE YOU TOO LORD!”

  3. Jeff says:

    Good stuff here, Matt. I definitely enjoyed the discussion that we had and I’m glad that you appreciate the open atmosphere I’ve done my best to foster.

    My take on the song is this: John 3:16 says, yes, it IS all about humanity and God’s love for us – and that is why that line of the song humbles me to the core, because I feel supremely unworthy of it. It inspires both humility and hope at the same time.

    Oh, and we’re singing it congregationally on May 2nd. Enjoy!

  4. supermatt28 says:

    It does doesn’t it? It’s such a great reminder of not only who we are in Christ and as God’s creations but what God wants from us relationship, and that does bring hope, good point there on the hope!

Leave a Reply

