Breaking the Silence

So some of you may have heard, and others will be finding out now. This past week I was ‘relieved of my duties as Youth Pastor’ at MVAC. I know that some people I have told are upset, or angry that this happened. Some people are hurt, and confused. Ironically, I do not fit into either of these. I am perfectly content with what has happened. In all honesty I agree with the decision. When Dave told me I didn’t agree with it, but I wasn’t crushed by it either. As I took time to process, as is my custom, I realized that it was the right and best decision not only for MVAC but for myself as well. I think I had felt ‘out of place’ as the YP of MVAC for a few months. The problem is I didn’t want to quit because I didn’t know what I was going to do. I didn’t trust God with taking care of me basically.

Why was it the right decision? I’m not the best fit! I might not be a good fit anywhere in youth ministry right now, I’m ok with that, I really don’t know what I am going to do next, which is kind of exciting, God knows and will help me get there I have no doubt. I do currently have a part-time job at Caffe Ladro in Issaquah, which I have enjoyed very much since I started it . . . this past monday!

I know a lot of people will want to ‘take sides’ on something like this, saying Dave was right, or Matt didn’t deserve this and Dave was wrong. But that shouldn’t be the case. In my mind, Dave and I are on the same team, more so now than before. Don’t feel any anger toward Dave or MVAC because of this situation. I’m not sure why people seem to be getting upset over this issue, it happened for one reason only, IT IS GOD’S WILL! If God’s will was for me to stay, well then I’d still be on staff. God has something different in store for Amy and I. I personally hope it is in this area. I told Dave the day he informed me of the decision that I feel called to MVAC still (not in those words exactly, but the meaning was there) and I stand by it, the only difference, and something I realized now is that it is in a volunteer manner. I have been and will hopefully remain involved in the worship team at MVAC, I love this church, the people in it, and those that lead it! It is the most at home I’ve felt at a church since I attended Sun Hills in EDH.

Thank you for your prayer and support, God bless!

8 thoughts on “Breaking the Silence

  1. Amy says:

    Matt, thanks for writing this. I didn’t really know how to classify my feelings and you’ve helped me understand them a little better. MVAC is a good church and I’m glad we’re here.

  2. Amy Anderson says:

    I’m proud of you lover!

  3. My dad has been writing a book precisely on point with this blog, I have emailed him the web address so perhaps he could pick up a couple pointers. Fantastic Job.
    You nicely summed up the issue. I would add that this doesn’t exactly concenplate often. xD Anyway, good post…

  4. Is this WP theme free or premium? nice blog btw! 2011 scholarships
    You nicely summed up the issue. I would add that this doesn’t exactly concenplate often. xD Anyway, good post…

  5. I found lots of valuable information in this forum

    Greetings to all

    Gry

Leave a Reply

