Leadership

One of the classes I am taking for my course work this semester is, “Leadership in Worship.” As I am reading my leadership books, and reading about the different types of leaders, and the characteristics of good leaders, I was struck by something I have never been struck with in my life of leading. I barely have any of the leadership qualifications that are listed. Out of a list I just read from Spiritual Leadership by J. Oswald Sanders, I was unsure if I posses any of the characteristics. Here is the list: discipline (maybe), vision (i don’t think so), wisdom (probably not), decision (I’m a processor), courage (that would be my youngest brother), humility (my father for sure, not me), integrity (I like to think so?), and sincerity (Bingo! got one!). One for sure out of eight, that’s not good, maybe 3 out of 8? That is not even half. The lesson for me? At 28 years of age (almost) I still have a lot to learn on being a good spiritual leader.

6 thoughts on “Leadership

  1. Jeff B says:

    I’ll venture to say that these are good traits of any good leader, not just positions of spiritual leadership. Good honesty here Matt.

    Jeff

  2. Karina says:

    There’s humility right there in that last statement….

Leave a Reply

