I’m Back and the CCLI 25

Hello to anyone who may read this post. I have been away for far too long. I’ve been busy with work and school. There is probably more than enough for me to write and share about over that time, but I havn’t, and here I am again. I have been spending a lot of time thinking about ‘popular’ worship. I am not here to criticize what the western church has been using on Sunday mornings for worship music. Every Church picks the songs that speaks most to their congregation and helps them to worship most easily. However, I believe that there are a number of songs that are being neglected and that should be on the top 25 list of the CCLI.

Here is what I am going to try to do, I am going to list off the songs I believe should be on the list and in subsequent posts I will write more thoroughly why I believe each song should be on the list. For starters here is a link to the CCLI top 25. There are some great songs on there, Everlasting God, Hosanna (Praise is Rising), How He Loves, Our God, In Christ Alone, The Stand and How Great Thou Art for instance all great great songs, some of my personal favorites. However, you’ll notice that very few, and quiet possibly none of those mention the Holy Spirit. For that reason my first two songs will, here is my list (I may add to this over the weeks).

1. The Doxology

2. There is a Sound by David Crowder*Band

3. Glorious by Paul Baloche

4. After All (Holy) by David Crowder*Band

5. Oh Great Love of God by David Crowder*Band

6. Brother Moon by Gungor

7. The Earth is Yours by Gungor

8. To the Cross by Paul Baloche

9. SMS (Shine) by David Crowder*Band

All of these songs have deep theology, great lyrics and will teach congregations great things about God (not just the Father or the Son but also the Holy Spirit) and worship. Stay tuned, and share your opinions. Even better if you have songs that you think should be on the list, let me know, and tell me why please!

3 thoughts on “I’m Back and the CCLI 25

  1. Karina says:

    Thanks for the recommendations. Will check them out now..
    Good to have you back!!

    • supermatt28 says:

      Thanks! I hope you like them, looks like I have some catch up reading on your blog as well.

      • Karina says:

        So far so good! Glorious was beautiful.. I am 5 down 🙂

        I’m much the same as you Matt – I only made a surprise appearance a few weeks back 🙂

Leave a Reply

